An image of the IPA logo

Blood on the Bayou – Independent Press Award Distinguished Favorite

Posted March 24, 2023


The INDEPENDENT PRESS AWARD® announces the 2023 Winners & Distinguished Favorites!

Douglas J. Wood receives national recognition through the INDEPENDENT PRESS AWARD®

Brooklyn, NY – The INDEPENDENT PRESS AWARD recognized Blood on the Bayou by Douglas J. Wood in the category of Crime Fiction as a distinguished favorite.

Blood on the Bayou by Douglas J. Wood

A serial killer is terrorizing the streets of the French Quarter in New Orleans. The victims are found with their throats slit, odd symbols on their faces, and a wooden cross in their hands. Detective Rebecca Simone and her team are working the case and when DNA from a local man is found on a body, it looks like the mystery is solved. However, someone in Washington D.C. has been quietly observing, and he is not satisfied with the outcome of the case. Unable to remain an outsider, Special Agent Christopher DiMeglio packs his bags and heads down to an unfamiliar city and an unwelcoming New Orleans police department.

The competition is judged by experts from different aspects of the book industry, including publishers, writers, editors, book cover designers and professional copywriters. Selected award winners and distinguished favorites are based on overall excellence.

In 2023, the INDEPENDENT PRESS AWARD had entries worldwide. Authors and publishers from countries such as Australia, Canada, Germany, India, Japan, Norway, Scotland, and South Africa participated. Submitted books included writers based in a variety of cities: Albuquerque, Atlanta, Cape Town, Halifax, London, Los Angeles, Mumbai, New York City and many others.

Submissions came from publishers such as Barefoot Books; BCS Publishing; BQB Publishing; IngramSpark; Friesen Press; Greenleaf Book Group, Koehler Books; Loyola Press; Merack Publishing; Red Chair Press; Red Hen Press; Rowman & Littlefield; Rutgers University Press; SAE International; She Writes Press; TouchPoint Press; Unity Books.

Winning authors included A.M Adair, Amy S. Peele, Andrew Snook, Gregory Boyle, SJ; Carole P. Roman; Claire N. Rubman; Danielle M. Orsino; David Bush; Ed Davis; Frederick Douglass Reynolds; Jode Millman; Katherine Davis-Gibbon; Lowell E. Baier; Marcia Smart; Michael Dow, RN, MS; Raven Howell; Rohit Bhargava; and Shelly Frome to name a few.

“We are proud to announce the Winners and Distinguished Favorites in our 2023 Annual INDEPENDENT PRESS AWARD.  This year included an array of quality and diverse independent books,” Olczak said. “Independent publishing is pushing on every corner of the earth with great content.  We are thrilled to be highlighting key titles representing global independent publishing,” said awards Sponsor Gabrielle Olczak.

For more information please visit; and to see this year’s list of IPA Winners and Distinguished Favorites, please visit the website pages:



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *